CALL (414) 425-3339

Request a Site Survey
60 Seconds with Tom Koeppen
Favorite this: 
60 Seconds with Tom Koeppen

Q. How did you first learn about Watertech?
A. I was looking for work and called a close buddy and Watertech’s Director of Sales, Jeff Freitag, was in his office. I also got this job through a referral.

Q. How long have you been with Watertech?
A. 10 years. 

Q. If you could pick one theme for Watertech to turn into a book about the company, what would it be?
A. Although there is a “Mr. Watertech” in the corner office, it seems like the company is employee owned and everyone works/cares for the company as if they have stock in it.

Q. If you could switch your job with anyone else within Watertech, whose job would you want?
A. “Mr. Watertech”

Q. What have you gained from working in this industry?
A. Grey Hair, new friends/customers and experiences no one can take away from me.

Q. What is the favorite part about working for Watertech?
A. The flexibility with people and work.

Q. What is your proudest moment at Watertech?
A. Selling my first account and winning some accounts in the Milwaukee area that Watertech had been hoping to win.

Q. What is your role at Watertech?
A. Territory Manager

Q. What do you find the most challenging at Watertech?
A. Writing reports.

Q. What would you do (for a career) if you weren’t doing this?
A. Probably something in Environmental Health and Safety since that is where I came from before Watertech.

Q. Are you messy or organized?
A. An organized mess.

Q. Describe what you were like at age 10.
A. Quiet computer geek boy.

Q. Favorite travel spot?
A. The Beach and outdoors… anywhere but an office.

Q. How do you define success?
A. Seeing my boys grow up to be respectful, good men.

Q. Do you collect anything?
A. Baseball cards and beer steins.

Q. If given a chance, who would you like to be for a day?
A. President of the United States.

Q. If Hollywood made a movie about your life, who would you like to see cast as you?
A. Mathew McConaughey



Q. If you could be anyone from any time period who would it be and why?
A. Thomas Jefferson or George Washington. It would be great to be part of the birth of this country.

Q. If you could do another job for just one day, what would it be?
A. Perform surgery

Q. If you could witness any historical event, what would you want to see?
A. Birth of baby Jesus.

Q. If you had to eat one meal, every day for the rest of your life, what would it be?
A. Steak

Q. If you were an animal what would you be?
A. Grizzly bear

Q. If you were on death row, what would your last meal be?
A. Surf and turf.

Q. If you were stuck on an island what three things would you bring?
A. A girlfriend, a recliner, and a still.

Q. If you were to write a book about yourself, what would you name it?
A. “I Can’t Believe I’m Making It”

Q. People would be surprised if they knew.
A. I can operate a sewing machine.
 
Q. Tell us a little bit about your family.
A. It's bat shit crazy, but I wouldn’t change it.

Q. Tell us something about yourself that would surprise us.
A. I have jumped out of a plane and hold SCUBA certification.

Q. Three words to best describe you.
A. Collide-a-scope

Q. Top three life highlights?
A. My boys. My boys. My boys.

Q. What advice would you give to recent new hires?
A. Be on time.

Q. What are three career lessons you’ve learned thus far?
A. Truth, integrity and compassion go a long way.

Q. What are your hopes for our industry?
A. People would become educated on water treatment before selling and giving professional advice.

Q. What aspect of your role do you enjoy the most?
A. Solving customers problems/issues.

Q. What do you always want to try and never did?
A. Fly a plane.

Q. What do you like to do in your spare time?
A. Spend time with my boys and the outdoors.

Q. What else do you do for fun?
A. Hunt, snowmobile, ice fishing, four wheeling, sporting events, family stuff, boating, camping, wines, cooking.



Q. What is an ability you wish you had?
A. Read minds

Q. What is on your bucket list?
A. Kenny Chesney Concert on the BEACH!!!

Q. What is the first thing you would buy if you won the lottery?
A. My kid’s college education.

Q. What is the greatest challenge you have had to overcome in your life thus far?
A. Divorce

Q. What is the most important thing you have learned in the last five years?
A. Time can fix a lot of things.

Q. What is the one thing you cannot resist?
A. Ice cream or cookies.

Q. What is the weirdest thing you’ve ever eaten?
A. Elk heart

Q. What is your biggest pet peeve?
A. Ignorance

Q. What is your favorite childhood memory?
A. The Christmas morning that I got a guitar.

Q. What is your favorite sport?
A. Baseball

Q. What is your greatest fear?
A. Drowning

Q. What is your hidden talent?
A. I can tie a cherry stem into a knot.

Q. What one food do you wish had zero calories?
A. Beer

Q. What phobias do you have?
A. Spiders freak me out.

Q. What would people never guess you do in your role?
A. I do it all.



Q. What would you most like to tell yourself at age 13?
A. Get medicine for acne.

Q. Where is the best place you’ve traveled to and why?
A. Has to be Jamaica.

Q. Where is your hometown?
A. New Berlin, WI

Q. Where would you like to go on a dream vacation?
A. Alllll over.  There is soooo much to see and learn out there.

Q. Where would you like to travel to?
A. The BEACH!!!

Q. You’re happiest when?
A. I am doing something with my boys.

Q. If you could learn to do anything, what would it be?
A. Play the guitar or perform surgery.

Q. If you won the lottery, what is the first thing you would do?
A. Hire a lawyer.

Q. If you could be any fictional character, who would you choose?
A. Luke Skywalker

Q. What is something you learned in the last week?
A. Be yourself.

Q. What’s your favorite indoor/outdoor activity?
A. Hunting

Q. What chore do you absolutely hate doing?
A. Putting away laundry.

Q. Have you ever had something happen to you that you thought was bad but it turned out to be for the best?
A. When I got laid off from a job.

Q. At what age did you become an adult?
A. 16

Q. Are you usually early or late?
A. Early

Q. When people come to you for help, what do they usually want help with?
A. Fixing something or a tool.

Q. Who’s your go to band or artist when you can’t decide on something to listen to?
A. Anything country – right now it is Luke Combs.

Q. What shows are you into?
A. Game of Thrones and Shameless.

Q. Who has impressed you most with what they’ve accomplished?
A. My father-in-law

Q. What age do you wish you could permanently be?
A. Its coming... 60-65… retirement

Q. What’s your favorite piece of clothing you own?
A. My Kids Baseball State Championship shirts.

Q. What hobby would you get into if time and money weren’t an issue?
A. Playing guitar, piano or hunting.

Q. High-tech or Low-tech?
A. High-tech

Q. Whiskey or water?
A. Whiskey and water with one ice cube.
 
Q. What is on your wish list for the next 10 years with Watertech?
A. To retire from Watertech and see the company double.

 

 

PRODUCTS & SERVICES