CALL (414) 425-3339

Request a Site Survey
60 Seconds with Hmong Vang
Favorite this: 
60 Seconds with Hmong Vang

Q.  How did you first learn about Watertech?
A.  I applied to for an internship through UW-Milwaukee’s School of Freshwater Sciences. The internship coordinators and Watertech’s CEO, Joe Russell, were part of the same non-profit organization, The Water Council. 

Q.  How long have you been with Watertech?
A.  June 20th marks 3 years at Watertech

Q.  What are 3 words to describe Watertech?
A.  Engaging, fulfilling, teamwork

Q.  What do you like most about Watertech?
A.  Watertech allows its employees to be who they want to be and pursue their goals with any help necessary from Watertech to get them there. 

Q.  What is your secret talent that no one knows about?
A.  I am pretty musical. I can play the guitar, bass, keyboard, drums and sing. But of course, you will probably never witness any of this because it is a secret talent, after all.

Q.  Any random facts you could share with us?
A.  I was born in Thailand and my family moved to the United States when I was 2 months old. 

Q.  Do you recall any embarrassing moment at work?
A.  On my first day of work, I was given a task to help assemble a picnic table with another intern. We assembled the table in hot 80 degree weather with the sun beating down on us. When we were done, I went into the kitchen and downed the first cold drink that I could find. Halfway through the drink, I realized that I was slamming a beer. I rushed to the sink and poured out the remainder of the drink with concerns that I would be fired on my first day for drinking on the job. Fortunately, anyone who has heard this story just laughed.

Q.  If you were to write a self-help book, what would the topic be?
A.  Solving problems

Q.  What do you like to do in your spare time?
A.  I like to fish, play volleyball, admire cars

Q.  What do you like to do on your days off?
A.  Go fishing

Q.  What is the first thing you would buy if you won the lottery?
A.  I would buy my mom a house.

Q.  What is your family like?
A.  My family supports one another in reaching our goals because we have all struggled the same struggles.

Q.  What is your favorite meal?
A.  A rare, nicely marbled steak!

Q.  What is your favorite sport?
A.  Volleyball, if competitive. Fishing, if leisure.

Q.  What is your greatest fear?
A.  I am afraid of heights. Other than that, I am pretty fearless.

Q.  What would you do (for a career) if you weren’t doing this?
A.  I don’t know, probably something in technology or engineering.

Q.  What would you like to be famous for?
A.  For helping people achieve their goals.

Q.  Where is your favorite place to eat?
A.  Royal Buffet, I really love the lobster!

Q.  Where is your hometown?
A.  Milwaukee, WI

Q.  Where would you like to travel to?
A.  Japan. I hear they are pretty innovative.

Q.  You’d like to be famous for?
A.  Discovering a new source of energy on Earth.

Q.  You’re happiest when?
A.  I am happiest when I see my love ones reach their long-term goals.

Q.  When you have 30 minutes of free-time, how do you pass the time?
A.  Day dream

Q.  At what age did you become an adult?
A.  I think maybe 14 is when I realized that I can no longer be a kid. Being the 2nd oldest out of 7 kids definitely helped with that.

Q.  What job do you think you’d be really good at?
A.  Giving people advice

Q.  Are you usually early or late?
A.  Late, definitely late.

Q.  What pets did you have while you were growing up?
A.  I think the only pets I was kind of allowed to have were fish.

Q.  What do you wish you knew more about?
A.  Life, space, how the brain works.

Q.  If you didn’t have to sleep, what would you do with the extra time?
A.  Learn about anything that would advance me personally or professionally.

Q.  How often do you play sports?
A.  Two to three times a week depending on the weather and season.

Q.  Big Party or Small Gathering?
A.  Big party so that my presence matters less.

Q.  Whiskey or water?
A.  Water, I do not care for alcohol very much or at all.

 

 

PRODUCTS & SERVICES